| |

الأمر كله في رأسك بقلم روس ملخص وتحليل

ابتعد عن طريقك

الحياة مشغولة لديها كل شيء في رأسك تجمع الغبار على رف كتبك؟ بدلاً من ذلك، تعلّم الأفكار الرئيسية الآن.

نحن نخدش السطح هنا. إذا لم يكن لديك الكتاب بالفعل، اطلب الكتاب أو احصل على الكتاب الصوتي مجاناً على أمازون لمعرفة التفاصيل المثيرة.

وجهة نظر روس

روس هو مغني راب ومغني وكاتب أغاني وموسيقي ومنتج تسجيلات ومؤلف أمريكي من أتلانتا، جورجيا. أنتج إيقاعات لمدة ست سنوات تقريباً قبل أن يحاول تسجيل أغاني الراب بنفسه. اشتهر روس بإنتاج أغانيه ومزجها وإتقانها وهندستها وكتابتها وأداءها بنفسه. صدر ألبوم روس الثاني عشر من إنتاج شركة كولومبيا ريكوردز وحاز على شهادة البلاتين في عام 2018.

مقدمة

كل شيء في رأسك هو استكشاف لكيفية سير روس في طريقه الخاص وبسرعته الخاصة. أثبت روس أنه لا يحتاج إلى علامة تجارية كبرى ليتجاوز أكثر من مليار بث على سبوتيفاي/آبل ميوزيك. وبعد ذلك، حقق نجاحاً كبيراً. كان روس ضمن قائمة فوربس "30 تحت 30" لعام 2019 و"30 تحت 30 ملكاً نقدياً". كما ساعدته أدواته للنجاح في بيع الحفلات في جميع أنحاء العالم وأصبح أحد أشهر مغني الراب وأكثرهم تفاعلاً في الوقت الحالي. كانت طريقته بسيطة: أحب نفسك وآمن بها واعمل بجد مهما كانت الظروف. في هذه المذكرات، يُلهم روس القراء في هذه المذكرات للسير على إيقاعاتهم الفردية والتغلب على أكبر العقبات التي تواجههم: أنفسهم.

أسس روس

كان روس واثقًا من أنه سيصبح فنانًا معروفًا منذ صغره. لم يشعر المحيطون به أنه سيصبح شيئاً مذكوراً. كان روس قد عمل في مجال الموسيقى لمدة ست سنوات وكتب 80 أغنية قبل أن يحقق أولى أغانيه الناجحة في عام 2015. وقد أحدثت هذه الأغاني الناجحة فرقاً كبيراً في حياته. قبل ذلك، كان يكسب 1 تيرابايت و200 تيرابايت فقط في الشهر.

ما يميز روس عن جميع الموسيقيين الآخرين هو أنه كان مثابرًا. كانت لديه ثقة داخلية قوية بالنفس وعزيمة قوية تدعمه في أصعب الأوقات. فقد استمر في كتابة موسيقى جديدة وتحسين مهاراته ودراسة الأعمال الموسيقية بكثافة كبيرة. وقد نجح في النهاية وأصبح حاليًا موسيقيًا مشهورًا للغاية. وقد حققت له موسيقاه، التي تمت مشاهدتها على يوتيوب مئات الملايين من المرات، ملايين الدولارات.

الثقة بالنفس هي أساس النجاح

ثقة روس بنفسه سمحت له بتحمل المخاطر المطلوبة لتحقيق النجاح. وجاء نجاحه بعد أن قرر أن عليه أن يفعل شيئًا لتحقيق حلمه. فقد رتب حملة نشطة تواصل من خلالها هو ومعجبيه باستمرار مع مدير تنفيذي في MTV على تويتر. وقد ناشدوا هذا المدير التنفيذي أن ينظر إلى موسيقاه فقط. ووافق في النهاية. وانتهى الأمر بإعجاب المدير التنفيذي بالموسيقى وقرر عرضها على قناة MTV. عرف روس أن عليه أن يتابع شغفه للحصول على ما يريد. واعتمادًا على ثقته بنفسه، وثق روس في قدرته على تحقيق أهدافه.

كما يوضح هذا المثال، فإن مشاركة تطلعاتك مع العالم - والاستفادة من تأثير وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي - أمر ضروري. انتشرت أحلام روس على تويتر بنفس الطريقة التي انتشرت بها في الحياة الواقعية. ففي إحدى المرات، غرّد على تويتر قائلاً: "مليون دولار في الإيقاع". في هذه المرحلة، كان في الواقع مفلسًا تمامًا ولم يكن لديه أي شيء. ومع ذلك، كانت هذه العقلية حاسمة في نجاحه. فبدلاً من أن يقول إنه سيجني مبلغاً كبيراً من المال يوماً ما، كان يفعل ما يريده بالفعل. وهذا ما أقنع عقله بأنه ناجح بالفعل، والنجاح يولد المزيد من النجاح. ومن ثم، يوصي روس بأن تحلم بالواقع الذي تريده. لا يزال بإمكانك أن تحلم، حتى لو لم يكن لديك المال ولا يمكنك تحمل تكاليف الإيجار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، احرص على مشاركة أحلامك مع العالم لمساعدة الآخرين على تحقيق ما تعمل من أجله. الطموح ليس محرجاً.

الفصل 2 - تجاهل المقاييس الخارجية للنجاح

في عام 2015، قدم روس عرضاً في تامبا، فلوريدا. لم يكن هناك سوى 40 شخصاً فقط. ولأنه لم يكن لدى روس المال، اضطر إلى الإقامة في فندق رث بمفرده. قد تبدو هذه تجربة محبطة لشخص يعتبر نفسه نجماً. ومع ذلك، لم يختبرها روس بهذه الطريقة. فقد كان متحمسًا حقًا لفعل ما يحبه، وهو عزف الموسيقى. لم يكن روس قلقًا بشأن ما إذا كان الجمهور 40 أو 40,000 شخص. لقد قدم كل شيء خلال هذا الأداء، وشجعته التجربة على كتابة ألبوم آخر.

في الواقع، لا يفكر الكثير منا أبدًا في ماهية شغفنا الحقيقي. نحن معتادون جداً على التفكير بمنطق القيود والخوف مما يمكن أن يحدث من أخطاء. نحن لا نعمل في مجالات تحتضن الأحلام المجنونة. بالإضافة إلى أن العائلات والأصدقاء "الواقعيين" من المرجح أن يعلنوا اعتراضهم على أحلامنا. لذلك، لمطاردة ما تحب، تحتاج إلى إسكات تلك الأصوات الناقدة واستبدالها بالإيمان بالذات دون خجل.

تماماً مثل روس، عليك أن تلعب اللعبة. لا تنظر إلى أحلامك وتتخيل ما كان يمكن أن يكون. بدلاً من ذلك، اغتنم كل فرصة لمطاردة حلمك. كان على روس أن ينتظر ست سنوات ليحصل على التقدير الموسيقي الذي كان يرغب فيه. ونحن نعلم الآن أنه كان يتطلع إلى النجاح في الجانب الآخر. كان روس ملتزمًا دائمًا بقدراته، حتى لو كان ذلك يعني الغناء في حانة في فلوريدا في غرفة نصف فارغة.

قبول الدعم من الآخرين

"من السهل منح الثقة ولكن من الصعب الحفاظ عليها، كما أنه من الصعب تحقيقها ولكن من السهل فقدانها" - روس

كانت عائلة روس داعمة للغاية

بالإضافة إلى تسخير الإيمان القوي بالنفس، يجب علينا أيضًا أن نسعى جاهدين لإحاطة أنفسنا بالأشخاص الذين يلهموننا ويدعموننا. كانت عائلة روس مصدر إلهام كبير لحب روس للموسيقى. فقد وفروا له الأساس اللازم للنجاح والاستفادة من مواهبه. وكثيراً ما كان والداه يعزفان الموسيقى في المنزل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كان والده يغني دائمًا داخل السيارة، ويقرع بهدوء على عجلة القيادة كما لو كانت مجموعة طبول خيالية.

عندما كان روس لا يزال طفلاً، زار جده. علّم جده روس كيفية العزف على أول أوتار الجيتار. كما اشترى جدي لروس جيتاره الخاص في عيد ميلاده الرابع عشر. وكانت هذه اللحظة أيضاً بداية مسيرة روس المهنية في الموسيقى.

كلما كان روس في حالة من الإحباط والافتقار إلى الدافع، كان شقيق روس موجودًا دائمًا لالتقاطه. وكان يشجع روس على التوقف عن السماح للشك الذاتي بالتسلل إليه. بدأ روس في تأليف الموسيقى. كان يعلم في أعماقه أن شغفه بموسيقى الراب. ومع ذلك، لم يكن يعتقد أن صوته جيد بما فيه الكفاية. اقترح عليه أخوه أن يجربه على أي حال.

كان هذا الحافز الصغير هو نقطة الانطلاق التي احتاجها روس للبدء في تأليف أغاني الراب. في البداية، كانت الأغاني تبدو مروعة. لكن الشيء الأكثر أهمية هو أن روس كان لديه على الأقل الثقة لبذل الجهد. وتدريجياً أصبح أقوى.

اختر أصدقاء جيدين

لا يمكننا اختيار عائلتنا. لقد كان روس محظوظاً بما فيه الكفاية ليحظى بعائلة محبة. ومع ذلك، يمكننا اختيار أصدقائنا. حرص روس على أن يحيط نفسه بالغرباء، حيث أراد أن يلتقي بمجموعة واسعة من الناس. وكان بوغوس هو مصدر الإلهام لهذا النهج. فقد كان الصديق الأقرب لروس وساعده بمحاولة تأليف الموسيقى إلى جانبه. وكان وجود صديق يشاركه نفس الشغف بمثابة دافع طبيعي لروس. يدفع كل من روس وبوغوس بعضهما البعض باستمرار للوصول إلى مستويات أعلى.

بناءً على تجاربه، يوصي روس بالتحقق من الأشخاص المحيطين بك. هل يدعمك هؤلاء الأشخاص في سعيك لتحقيق أحلامك؟ حاول التخلص من الأصدقاء الذين يحدونك. إذا كان بإمكانك العثور على أصدقاء مستعدين للانضمام إليك في رحلتك الإبداعية، فستقدر هذه الرحلة الإبداعية أكثر.

الاستفادة من التفكير الإيجابي والعمل الجاد

سيبدو الرياضيون المحترفون الذين يسددون الكرة في ملعب كرة السلة أو يسددون الكرة بسهولة في الحفرة الأولى واثقين من أنفسهم. فهم يجعلون الأمر يبدو بسيطًا تقريبًا. تتناقض هذه السهولة المفترضة مع ساعات وساعات من العمل. إنها ساعات من التمرين في الصباح وأيام من الانزعاج بسبب عدم إصابة التسديدات. فالثقة بالنفس هي الحبة التي تملك الإمكانيات، لكن العمل الجاد يساعدنا على تطوير أحلامنا.

يُعدّ روس مثالاً رائعاً على أهمية العمل الجاد. فبين عامي 2011 و2016، أنتج روس أكثر من 80 أغنية في أحد عشر ألبوماً. وخلال تلك الفترة، حصل على تقدير ضئيل. ومع ذلك، واصل روس العمل. ورغم أنه ارتكب العديد من الأخطاء، إلا أنه استمر في تحسين فنه. وفي النهاية، أصبح أفضل.

وضع روس وبوغوس على عاتقهما مهمة التعرف على الجانب التجاري للموسيقى. تم تحليل تسجيلات مغني الراب المشهورين. وتعلموا كيف ابتكر الفنانون المشهورون موسيقاهم وكيف تعاملوا مع حياتهم المهنية. كانا يبحثان عن أدلة تثبت ما الذي جعل الناس يحبون الموسيقى.

بحث روس في تسجيلات الأغاني الأكثر مبيعًا واكتشف أن الموسيقى الأكثر شهرة هي الموسيقى الأولى في الألبوم يوميًا. ومن خلال تسجيل ألبومات من أغنية واحدة، اختار أن يحقق أقصى استفادة من هذا الواقع، وتدرج في تسجيل الأغاني لمدة ستة أشهر. بعد ذلك، بدأ أسبوعياً في إصدار أغنية على موقع TuneCore الموسيقي على الإنترنت. كان التكتيك ناجحاً. لم يتقاضَ روس سوى $620 على الموقع في يونيو 2015. ومع ذلك، ارتفع هذا الرقم إلى $102,000 في العام التالي.

في الوقت الحاضر، يؤدي روس عروضه بتبختر موثوق به في الملاعب التي تُباع تذاكرها بالكامل. ولكن، تمامًا مثل لاعب كرة السلة الذي يقضي ساعات من التدريب للتحكم في رمية كرة السلة "سلام دانك"، عمل روس بجد ليتمكن من السيطرة على الكرة. ومن خلال ساعات من العمل الشاق والتحليل التكتيكي، دعم أحلامه.

تطوير مهارات جديدة واستقلالية

"لا تقطع أبدًا وعدًا لا يمكنك الوفاء به حقًا. ولكن إذا فعلت ذلك على أي حال حاول أن تفي به على أي حال، مهما كان صعبًا أو مزعجًا أو حتى مؤلمًا." - روس

تجنب بيع نفسك على نفسك

لنفترض أنك موسيقي شاب في مجال الموسيقى. لقد عملت بجد على موهبتك، ثم حصلت على ألبوم قوي. وفجأة، سيبحر بك عالم جديد بالكامل - عالم مليء بالإعلانات والإتاوات والصفقات. أنت مغمور تماماً. في مثل هذا السيناريو، قد تميل حقًا إلى تفويض مناقشاتك التجارية إلى مدير أو شركة تسجيلات. قد يخفف ذلك من الأعباء والشكوك. ومع ذلك، قد يحرمك هذا أيضًا من شيء مهم: المسؤولية عن حياتك المهنية.

في عام 2014، رفض روس عرضين من شركات التسجيلات. اتخذ روس هذا القرار على الرغم من أنه لم يجمع سوى $200 في ذلك الشهر. كان يعلم أنه سيكون أكثر اعتماداً على نفسه وعلى مهاراته الخاصة باتخاذه هذا القرار. وفي وقت لاحق، سيطور المزيد. وقد أظهر هذا الأسلوب أن روس هو أحد الفنانين القلائل المشهورين الذين لا يزالون يملكون الكثير من أغانيه الخاصة. كان سيحصل على عقد أقل متعة بكثير إذا كان قد تفاوض على اتفاق قبل أن يتفاوض على السلطة.

لا تساوم على استقلاليتك الذاتية

"قلب صافٍ ممتلئ وجيب فارغ أفضل بكثير من جيب ممتلئ بالمال بلا قلب" - روس

لا يرى روس أن الاستقلال الاقتصادي هو الشكل الوحيد المهم للاستقلالية. فهو ملتزم بتأليف الموسيقى وتسجيلها بمفرده منذ أن بدأ في إنتاج الموسيقى في سن 14 عاماً. وقد حصل روس على استوديو تسجيل مؤقت في قبو منزل والديه للهروب من العبء المالي لاستئجار استوديو. وهذا يعني أنه كان بإمكانه تأليف الأغاني ليلاً أو نهاراً دون أن يدفع مقابل ساعات عمل أي شخص سوى نفسه.

كان روس يتحكم فنياً من خلال تقليد تسجيل ومزج موسيقاه الخاصة. فقد قام هو وبوغوس بمزج أغاني ألبوم باغوس الأول (الذي كان روس ينتجه). وعلى الرغم من أنه موهوب جدًا، إلا أن الصوت الفعلي الذي كانا يحتاجان إليه لم يكن ليتفوق على أمثال ميكسيد باي علي. ومن ثم، قرر روس أن يتعلم كيفية المزج. استغرقه الأمر بعض الوقت لفهم هذه التقنية، لكنه استطاع مزج الأغاني بالطريقة التي كان يتصورها بالضبط.

توضح مسيرة روس المهنية مقدار ما يمكنك تحقيقه. فبدلاً من إعطاء الوظائف للخبراء، يمكنك تعلم الفهم والمهارات التي تحتاجها. يمكن الآن الوصول إلى جميع المعلمين الذين تحتاجهم عبر الإنترنت - ومعظمهم مجانًا. الأداة الوحيدة التي تحتاجها هي التصميم الكبير والرغبة في التعلم.

أعد ضبط عقلك وبيئتك

خذ وقتك في إعادة التشغيل

على الرغم من أن روس كان مستعدًا لنجاح حياته، إلا أنه كان تعديلًا بالغ الأهمية في حياته. فقد كان مسؤولاً عن نفسه فقط في وقت من الأوقات. أما الآن فقد أصبح الآن تحت أنظار الجمهور.

تسببت صراحته على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وثقته الشديدة في إثارة الشكوك والجدل. على سبيل المثال، في عام 2017، قال روس إنه سيفوز بـ 10 جوائز غرامي في حفل العام التالي. ومع ذلك، في عام 2018، أصبحت تغريدته مثيرة للسخرية. ولم يفز بأي جائزة غرامي.

إن الاستهزاء بأحلامك أمر مؤلم. علاوة على ذلك، رأى روس الشائعات تنتشر عنه على الإنترنت. بدأ روس يشعر بالاكتئاب وهو يحاول التصدي لمنتقديه الافتراضيين. وكما يمكنك أن تتوقع، كان ذلك دون جدوى.

أدرك روس أنه فقد تركيزه على شغفه الأكبر: الموسيقى. فابتعد عن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ليعيد تشغيلها من جديد. كما أوقف الجولات ورفض جميع طلبات إجراء المقابلات. وبدلاً من ذلك، قضى وقتاً للاسترخاء مع عائلته وأصدقائه الذين أحبوه ودعموه. استطاع روس أن يستعيد ثقته الاستثنائية بنفسه من خلال الابتعاد عن أعين الجمهور. واكتشف أنه لم يكن من الخطأ أن يكون ضعيفًا، وكشف عن روحه. عرف أن بإمكانه أن يجعل من نقاط ضعفه نقاط قوته. وعرف أيضًا أنه لم يكن لديه أي سيطرة على ما ينشره الناس عنه. 

الابتعاد عن أعين الجمهور

عندما أهانه الناس على تويتر، شعر روس في البداية بالخجل الشديد لدرجة أنه اضطر إلى مسح تغريدته الأصلية. بعد إعادة تشغيله، كان دائمًا ما يتمسك بالتغريدة. والأهم من ذلك أنه كان يؤمن بنفسه وبقوة قناعاته.

ساعد الابتعاد عن أعين الجمهور روس على تقدير المكاسب الموسيقية. فقد قام بالفعل بتأليف أغانٍ جديدة في اليوم الثاني من استراحته. وقد أصبح أكثر قدرة على استخدام طاقة كتابة منشورات تويتر الغاضبة في تأليف نوتات موسيقية. وأدرك روس أن الانهيارات أمر مروع، لكنها يمكن أن تكون تجربة إيجابية أيضًا. فقد أتاح له الانهيار فرصة للتحقق من صحة ما كان يؤمن به واستعادة حماسه وتركيزه المتجدد.

ملف PDF وكتاب صوتي مجاني وملخص متحرك لكتاب "الأمر كله في رأسك

كان هذا غيض من فيض. للغوص في التفاصيل ودعم المؤلف، اطلب كتاب أو احصل على الكتاب الصوتي مجاناً على أمازون

قم بالتعليق أدناه وأخبر الآخرين بما تعلمته أو إذا كان لديك أي أفكار أخرى.

هل أنت جديد على ستوري شوتس؟ احصل على النسخ الصوتية والمتحركة من هذا الملخص ومئات الكتب الأخرى الأكثر مبيعاً من الكتب غير الخيالية في تطبيق مجاني من أفضل التطبيقات المجانية وقد اختارته كل من Apple وThe Guardian وThe UN وGoogle كأحد أفضل تطبيقات القراءة والتعلم في العالم.

ملخصات الكتب ذات الصلة

الفن البارع في عدم المبالاة في عدم الاهتمام بقلم مارك مانسون

شركة الإبداع بقلم إدوين كاتمول

السر بقلم روندا بيرن

قوة الآن بقلم إيكهارت توللي

النسخ الأصلية بقلم آدم جرانت

فكّر في نفسك بقلم غاري جون بيشوب

أنت شجاع بقلم جين سينسيرو

الاسترجاع الكلي بقلم أرنولد شوارزنيجر وبيتر بيتر بيتر

سحر التفكير الكبير بقلم ديفيد ج. شوارتز

لا يمكن أن تؤذيني بقلم ديفيد جوجينز

عقلية المامبا كوبي براينت

الحبيبات بقلم أنجيلا داكويرث

الخيميائي بقلم باولو كويلو

ملخص كل شيء في رأسك
  • الحفظ

منشورات مشابهة

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet للحد من الرسائل غير المرغوب فيها. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقاتك.

| |

It’s All in Your Head by Russ Summary and Analysis

Get Out of Your Way

Life gets busy. Has It’s All in Your Head been gathering dust on your bookshelf? Instead, learn the key insights now.

We’re scratching the surface here. If you don’t already have the book, order the book or get the audiobook for free on Amazon to learn the juicy details.

Russ’s Perspective

Russ is an American rapper, singer, songwriter, musician, record producer, and author from Atlanta, Georgia. He produced beats for around six years before he attempted to record himself rapping. Russ is known for his songs being produced, mixed, mastered, engineered, written, and performed by himself. Russ’ twelfth studio album was released by Columbia Records and certified platinum in 2018.

Introduction

It’s All in Your Head is an exploration of how Russ walks his own path, at his own pace. Russ proved that he didn’t need a major label to surpass over a billion streams on Spotify/Apple Music. Subsequently, he has achieved significant success. Russ was on Forbes’ 2019 “30 Under 30” and Forbes’ “30 Under 30 Cash Kings.” His tools for success have also helped him sell out arenas around the globe and become one of the most popular and engaged rappers right now. His method was simple: love and believe in yourself and work hard no matter what. In this memoir, Russ inspires readers to walk to their individual rhythms and beat their biggest obstacles: themselves.

Russ’ Foundations

Russ was confident of becoming a well-known artist from a young age. Those around him never felt he was going to be something. Russ had worked in the music business for six years and had written 80 songs before his first hits in 2015. These hits made a massive difference to his life. Before then, he was earning just $200 per month.

What separated Russ from all other musicians was that he persisted. He had a strong inner self-confidence and resolve to support him through the most challenging times. He continued writing new music, improving his skills, and studying the music business with huge intensity. He finally made it and is currently a very popular musician. His music, which has been watched on YouTube hundreds of millions of times, has made him millions of dollars.

Self-Confidence Underpins Success

Russ’ confidence allowed him to take the risks required to be successful. His success came on the back of him deciding he had to do something to fulfill his dream. He arranged an active campaign whereby he and his fans continually contacted an MTV executive on Twitter. They pleaded with this executive to just look at his music. He eventually agreed. The executive ended up loving the music and decided to put it on MTV. Russ knew he had to pursue his passion to get what he wanted. Relying on his confidence, Russ trusted he could achieve his goals.

As this example illustrates, sharing your aspirations with the world – and leveraging the influence of social media – is essential. Russ’ dreams spread on Twitter in the same way they spread in real life. Once, he tweeted that “Millon dollars a beat” was being created. At this point, he was actually completely broke and had hardly anything. However, this mindset was crucial to his success. Instead of saying he would make a large sum of money one day, he was already doing what he wanted. This convinced his mind that he was already successful, and success breeds more success. Hence, Russ recommends that you dream of the reality that you want. You can still dream, even though you have no money and cannot afford your rent. Plus, make sure you share your dreams with the world to help others realize what you are working for. Ambition is not embarrassing.

Chapter 2 – Ignore External Measures of Success

In 2015, Russ performed in Tampa, Florida. There were only 40 people present. Because Russ had no money, he had to lodge in a shabby hotel alone. This might seem like a disheartening experience for a person who considers himself to be a star. However, Russ didn’t experience it that way. He was genuinely excited to do what he loved, which was to play music. Russ was not concerned about whether the crowd was 40 or 40,000. He gave everything during this performance, and the experience encouraged him to write another album.

In reality, many of us never really consider what our true passions are. We’re very accustomed to reasoning in terms of limitations and fearing what could go wrong. We don’t work in industries that embrace crazy dreams. Plus, ‘realistic’ families and friends are likely to declare their objections to our dreams. Therefore, to chase what you love, you need to silence those critical voices and substitute them with unabashed self-belief.

Just like Russ, you need to play the game. Do not look at your dreams and imagine what could have been. Instead, grasp every opportunity to chase your dream. Russ had to wait six years to receive the musical credit he desired. We now know that he was looking forward to success on the other side. Russ would always commit to his ability, even if that meant singing in a Florida bar in a half-empty room.

Accept Support From Others

“Trust is easy to give but hard to keep also it’s hard to achieve but easy to lose” – Russ

Russ’ Family Were Highly Supportive

As well as harnessing strong self-belief, we must also strive to surround ourselves with people who inspire and support us. Russ’ family offered a huge inspiration for Russ’ love of music. They provided the foundation for him to succeed and utilize his talents. His parents often played music in the home. Plus, his dad would always sing inside the car and, just like an imaginary drum kit, softly tap the steering wheel.

When Russ was still a kid, he visited his grandfather. Pop Pop taught Russ how to play his first guitar chords. Pop Pop also bought Russ his own guitar for his 14th birthday. This moment also kickstarted Russ’ career in music.

Whenever Russ was low and lacking motivation, Russ’ brother was always there to pick him up. He would encourage Russ to stop allowing self-doubt to creep in. Russ started composing music. Deep down, he knew that his passion was for rap music. However, he didn’t believe his voice was good enough. His brother suggested that he try it anyway.

This little bit of motivation was the springboard Russ needed to start making rap songs. At first, they sounded dreadful. The most important thing, though, was that Russ had at least got the confidence to make an effort. Gradually he got stronger.

Choose Good Friends

We cannot choose our family. Russ has been lucky enough to have a loving family. However, we can choose our friends. Russ made sure that he surrounded himself with strangers, as he wanted to meet a wide range of people. Bugus was the inspiration for this approach. He was Russ’ closest friend and helped him by trying to make music by his side. Having a friend who shared similar passions acted as a natural motivation for Russ. Russ and Bugus are continually pushing each other to reach higher standards.

Based on his experiences, Russ recommends checking the people you have around you. Do these people support you in the pursuit of your dreams? Try to remove friends who are limiting you. If you can find friends who are willing to join you on your creative journey, you will appreciate this creative journey more.

Utilize Positive Thinking and Hard Work

Professional athletes slam dunking on the basketball court or easily making a hole-in-one will seem particularly confident. They nearly make it appear simple. This supposed ease contradicts the hours and hours of work. These are hours of practice in the morning and days of annoyance as shots are not hit. Self-confidence is the grain that has potential, but hard work helps our dreams develop.

Russ is a perfect example of the importance of hard work. Between the years 2011 and 2016, Russ produced over 80 songs on eleven albums. During that time, he got scant recognition. However, Russ continued working. Though he made several errors, he continued improving his art. Ultimately, he got better.

Russ and Bugus have set themselves the task of learning about the business side of music. The records of famous rappers were analyzed. They learned how well-known artists created their music and how they treated their careers. They were looking for clues to prove what made people love music.

Russ researched records for bestsellers and discovered the best-known music was the first music on an album daily. By recording one-song albums, he chose to make the most of this reality, and he progressed to record six months of songs. Then, weekly he started releasing a song on the TuneCore online music website. The tactic was successful. Russ was only paid $620 on the site in June 2015. However, that number rose to $102,000 in the following year.

Nowadays, Russ performs with a reliable swagger in sold-out stadiums. But, just like the basketball player who spends hours of practice controlling a slam dunk, Russ has worked hard to gain control. With hours of demanding work and tactical analysis, he supported his dreams.

Develop New Skills and Autonomy

“Never make a promise that you can’t really keep it. But if you did in any case try to keep it anyway, whatever hard, troublesome or even painful.” – Russ

Avoid Selling Yourself Short

Say you’re a young musician in the music industry. You worked hard on your talent, and then you’ve got a solid album. Suddenly, a whole new world will sail – one with ads, royalty, and deals. You’re completely overwhelmed. In such a scenario, you may be genuinely tempted to delegate your business discussions to a manager or record company. This may alleviate burdens and doubts. However, this may also deny you something important: responsibility for your career.

In 2014, Russ refused two offers from record labels. Russ made this decision despite only raising $200 in that month. He knew that he would be more self-reliant on his own skills by making this decision. Subsequently, he would develop more. This technique has shown that Russ is one of the few popular artists still entitled to much of his own songs. He would have had a much less pleasurable contract if he had negotiated an agreement before he had negotiated power.

Do Not Compromise on Your Autonomy

“A full pure heart with an empty pocket is much better than a full pocket of money with no heart” – Russ

Russ does not see economic independence as the only important form of autonomy. He has been committed to creating music and recording it on his own since he started producing music at 14. In his parents’ basement, Russ acquired a temporary recording studio to escape the financial burden of renting one. This meant that he could compose songs day or night without paying for anybody’s hours but his own.

Russ’s artistic control was provided by the tradition of recording and mixing his own music. Both he and Bugus mixed songs from Bugus’ first album (that Russ was producing). Although he’s very talented, the actual sound they needed couldn’t beat the likes of MixedByAli. Hence, Russ decided to learn how to blend. It took him some time to grasp the technology, but he could mix the songs exactly how he had envisioned.

Russ’ career illustrates how much you can achieve. Rather than giving the jobs to experts, you can learn the understanding and skills you need. All teachers that you need can now be accessed online – mostly free of charge. The only tool you need is significant determination and a desire to learn.

Reset Your Mind and Environment

Take Time to Reboot

Although Russ prepared for his life’s success, it was still a momentous modification to his life. He was only responsible for himself at one time. Now he was firmly in the public eye.

His bluntness on social media and his ardent confidence caused suspicion and controversy. For example, in 2017, Russ said that he would win 10 Grammys in the following year’s ceremony. However, in 2018, his tweet became a parody. He did not win any Grammys.

Having your dreams mocked is painful. Furthermore, Russ saw rumors spread online about him. Russ started to become depressed as he attempted to counter his virtual critics. As you can expect, this was in vain.

Russ knew he had lost his concentration on his greatest passion: music. He took an exit from social media to reboot. He also stopped tours and rejected all requests for interviews. Instead, he spent time relaxing with his family and friends who loved him and supported him. Russ could reconnect his exceptional self-confidence by taking a break from the public eye. He discovered it was not wrong to be vulnerable, and he exposed his soul. He knew he could make his vulnerabilities his strengths. He also knew he had no control over what people were spreading about him. 

Move Away From the Public Eye

When insulted by people on Twitter, Russ was initially so ashamed that he had to erase his original tweet. After his reboot, he would always stand by the tweet. More importantly, he believed in himself and had the strength of his convictions.

Moving away from the public eye helped Russ appreciate musical dividends. He had already created new songs on the second day of his break. He has been better able to use the energy of writing angry Twitter posts to compose musical notes. Russ realized that breakdowns are awful, but they can also be a positive experience. His breakdown offered the opportunity to validate what he believed in and to recover his enthusiasm and renewed focus.

PDF, Free Audiobook, and Animated Summary of It’s All in Your Head

This was the tip of the iceberg. To dive into the details and support the author, order the book or get the audiobook for free on Amazon.

Comment below and let others know what you have learned or if you have any other thoughts.

New to StoryShots? Get the audio and animated versions of this summary and hundreds of other bestselling nonfiction books in our free top-ranking app. It’s been featured by Apple, The Guardian, The UN, and Google as one of the world’s best reading and learning apps.

Related Book Summaries

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

Creativity, Inc. by Edwin Catmull

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

Originals by Adam Grant

Unfu*k Yourself by Gary John Bishop

You Are a Badass by Jen Sincero

Total Recall by Arnold Schwarzenegger and Peter Petre

The Magic of Thinking Big by David J. Schwartz

Can’t Hurt Me by David Goggins

The Mamba Mentality by Kobe Bryant

Grit by Angela Duckworth

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

It's All in Your Head Summary
  • Save

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.